slipdog

Junior Scout

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
    GM Since: July 2018
Rep - Floater

Hi folks.  I am new to this great game, but I have noticed an aesthetic flaw.  I am hoping someone here can convince me that I am misguided in this because there is so much to like about this game.

Flaw:  It strikes me that there is little point in developing young players, because promotions and relegations shake up the roster so intensely.  I also don't see the point in signing long-term contracts given the fair possibility of changing divisions.  Indeed, if you are demoting, it would be great to have some great talent in a lower division.  On the other hand, if you are promoting (the ultimate goal, to win games and promote), then what advantage is there to sign longer contracts?  I have found so far that resigning players is more expensive than the free agent market, so that is another strike against developing franchise players (in my brief experience with GPHL)

In short, the extreme change-over of roster from season to season strikes me as a somewhat lacking in team character.

I love this game, so someone please explain to me where I am missing something here.

thanks!

Posted July 28, 2018 - 09:34 PM

Mocha

Professional Scout

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • 1 thanks
    GM Since: January 2018
Rep - Reliable
  • LocationCalgary