Junior Scout

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
    GM Since: March 2018
Rep - Floater

Steam Profile

Just looking for some advice going forward, how do draft preferences work? Because I definitely just wasted the first overall pick this year. I had a list of guys and the guy I ended up getting was about 12th on my list. How can I prevent this in the future?

Thanks.

Posted June 12, 2018 - 11:28 AM

glenngg

Junior Scout

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
    GM Since: June 2018
Rep - Floater

I'm new to this too, but if you are taking the time to make your shortlist and put it in order, you'll usually want to select the option "shortlist only".  For your 12th player to be selected, you must have had some other option selected.

Posted June 12, 2018 - 06:07 PM

Jack Reacher

Head Scout

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • 2 thanks
    GM Since: December 2015
Rep - Reliable
  • LocationCanada

So Draft preferences help you to order your picks and prospects you want. So basically if you have the first overall pick, if the draft preferences are not selected, the computer will automatically take your #1 pick, but if you do have a preference, select the player you want and then go horizontally across to a drop down bar which is set to any pick. Change that to one of the drop down options, which will be "first round pick", "second round pick", or "third round pick". This ensures that the prospect you want will be chose n with the right pick. But also remember to set draft preferences to "use shortlist over rank", so the computer chooses from the players you want instead of the ranked ones in the draft. Hopefully that helped.

Posted June 13, 2018 - 06:00 PM

Rideon34

Junior Scout

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • 0 thanks
    GM Since: March 2018
Rep - Floater

Steam Profile

Thanks for the tips. I did have it set for the shortlist but didn't change the settings on the right. Live and learn

Posted June 14, 2018 - 01:43 AM

Gardener